Pages Menu
Categories Menu

About Twenty20


Twenty20 match format is similar to limited overs cricket in that it involves two teams, each with a single innings, the key difference being each team bats for a maximum of 20 overs. In terms of visual format, the batting team members do not arrive from and depart to traditional dressing rooms, but come and go from a “bench” (typically a row of chairs) visible in the playing arena, analogous to Association Football’s “Technical area” or a baseball “dugout”.

General Rules

The name “Twenty20” implies that each team in a Twenty 20 cricket match will have a maximum of 20 overs

  • A bowler can bowl a maximum of four overs.
  • Free Hit: If the bowler bowls a no-ball as a result of overstepping, the next ball shall be a Free Hit. For this ball, the batsman is not given out by any way in the cricket rules apart from being run-out. The captain cannot change field setting and it will be the same as the previous ball.
  • A maximum of two fielders can be outside the 30 yard circle in the first 6 overs. These overs are known as Power Play.
  • For the remaining 14 overs not more than five players can be outside the 30 yard circle.
  • Only 5 fielders can field on the leg side at any point of time.
  • A new batsman has to come to the crease within 90 seconds after the dismissal of the previous batsman.
  • The teams do not sit in the pavilion. Instead, they sit in the dug-outs, next to each other, just behind the boundary line.

If a Twenty 20 match ends in a tie, the outcome is decided by a novel concept called bowl-out.

According to this (Bowl Out) Twenty 20 cricket rule, five bowlers from either team are allowed to a bowl each at the wicket with no batsman at the crease. The Twenty 20 rule states that the maximum time the wicket is castled by either team decides the outcome of the Twenty 20 match. If the match is still undecided the five bowlers are again required to bowl at the wicket.

The Laws of cricket apply to Twenty20, with some exceptions:

Each bowler may bowl a maximum of only one-fifth of the total overs per innings (generally four, for a full, uninterrupted game). i.e., 4 in the 20 overs

  • Should a bowler deliver a no ball by overstepping the popping crease, it costs 1 run and his next delivery is designated a “free-hit”, from which the batsman can only be dismissed through a run out, as is the case for the original “no ball”. (Strictly speaking, the very rare methods of dismissal from a “no ball” – for hitting the ball twice, obstructing the field or handling the ball – also apply to the “free-hit” delivery.)
  • Umpires may award five-run penalty runs at their discretion if they believe either team is wasting time.
  • The following fielding restrictions apply:
  • No more than five fielders can be on the leg side at any time.
  • During the first six overs, a maximum of two fielders can be outside the 30-yard circle.
  • After the first six overs, a maximum of five fielders can be outside the fielding circle.
  • If the fielding team doesn’t start to bowl their 20th over within 75 minutes, the batting side is credited an extra six runs for every whole over bowled after the 75 minute mark; the umpire may add more time to this if they believe the batting team is wasting time.

Tie Deciders

If the match ends with the scores tied and there must be a winner, the tie is broken with a one over per side “Eliminator” or “Super Over”

  • Each team nominates three batsmen and one bowler to play a one-over per side “mini-match”, referred to as a “One1”.In turn, each side bats one over bowled by the one nominated opposition bowler, with their innings over if they lose two wickets before the over is completed. The side with the higher score from their over wins:
  • If the teams finish tied on runs scored in that one over, the side with the higher number of sixes in its full innings and in the one-over eliminator will be declared the winner. If the teams are still tied, the one with the higher number of fours in both innings will win.
  • Tied Twenty20 matches were previously decided by a “Bowl-out”.

Playing Conditions

Duration – One innings per side, each innings limited to a maximum of 20 overs

Interval – The interval will normally be of 15 minutes duration. In reduced overs matches, the interval will be cut to 10 minutes.

Re-arrangement of Overs – Teams have one hour 15 minutes to bowl 20 overs. In the first innings, the calculation of the number of overs to be bowled shall be based on one over for every full 3.75 minutes in the total time available for play up to the scheduled close of play. In the second innings of the match, overs shall be reduced at a rate of one over for every full 3.75 minutes lost, unless the first innings finished early / second innings started early in which case no overs are lost until the time that has been gained is subsequently lost.

Timed Out – The incoming batsman must be in position to take guard or for his partner to be ready to receive the next ball (or for his partner to receive the next ball) within one minute 30 seconds of the fall of the previous wicket.

Ball – White Kookaburra balls are to be used.

The Result – Each side must have faced (or had the opportunity to face) five overs in order to constitute a match. The Duckworth Lewis Method shall be used in interrupted matches.

Restrictions on the Placement of Fieldsmen – Fielding restrictions apply for the first six overs of each innings.

Number of Overs per Bowler – Each bowler may bowl a maximum of four overs. In a delayed or interrupted match, no bowler may bowl more than one fifth of the total overs allowed unless such a number has been exceeded before the interruption.

Free Hit after a Foot Fault No Ball – This will apply.

Short Pitched Bowling – As in other one-day competitions, one short-pitched ball is allowed per over.

Over-Rate Penalties – The six-run penalty for each over not bowled will apply – all sides are expected to be in position to bowl the first ball of the last of their 20 overs within one hour 15 minutes playing time. In reduced over matches, the fielding side has one over’s leeway in addition to any time that the Umpires may allow for stoppages.

Umpires are instructed to apply a strict interpretation of time-wasting by the batsman (five-run penalties). Specifically, batsmen are expected to be ready for the start of a new over as soon as the bowler is ready.

Net Run Rate – A team’s net run rate is calculated by deducting from the average runs per over scored by that team, the average runs per over scored against that team.

In the event of a team being all out in less than its full quota of overs, the calculation of its  net run rate shall be based on the full quota of overs to which it would have been entitled and not on the number of overs in which the team was dismissed.

Only those matches where results are achieved will count for the purpose of net run rate calculations. Where a match is abandoned, but a result is achieved under                 Duckworth/Lewis, for net run rate purposes Team 1 will be accredited with Team 2’s Par   Score on abandonment off the same number of overs faced by Team 2. Where a match is concluded but with Duckworth/Lewis having been applied at an earlier point in the match,        Team 1 will be accredited with 1 run less than the final Target Score for Team 2 off the total    number of overs allocated to Team 2 to reach the target.